What is Education for Sustainable Development?

Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) encourages us to explore the profound interdependencies of environmental, social, and economic systems.

ESD aims to help people develop the attitudes, skills and knowledge needed to make informed decisions for the immediate and long-term benefit of themselves and others, and to act upon these for the benefit of the planet we share.

The United Nations has declared 2005-2014 as the Decade of Education for Sustainable Development (UNDESD).  The Decade is designed to “promote education as the foundation of sustainable society, to integrate sustainable development into all educational systems, and to encourage international cooperation in the search for innovative approaches to this task.”[1]  

In 2008, the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada (CMEC) included Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) as one of the key activity areas in Learn Canada 2020, its framework to enhance Canada’s education systems, learning opportunities and overall education outcomes at all levels. CMEC has developed a pan-Canadian ESD framework for collaboration and action for advancing ESD in all jurisdictions.

In Canada, Learning for a Sustainable Future has taken the lead on a variety of initiatives that support ESD.

[1] Education for Sustainable Development in Canada: The Work of the Federal Government. Strategic Policy Branch, Natural Resources Canada. 2005.

Premières étapes

L'éducation pour le développement durable

L’éducation pour le développement durable (EDD) nous encourage à explorer les interdépendances profondes des systèmes écologique, sociétal et économique.

L’EDD vise à amener les gens à acquérir les attitudes, les compétences et les connaissances nécessaires pour prendre des décisions éclairées tant dans l’immédiat qu’à long terme pour soi-même et pour les autres, et à agir en connaissance de cause pour le bien de la planète que nous partageons. 

 Les Nations Unies ont proclamé la décennie 2005–2014 « Décennie des Nations Unies pour l’éducation au service du développement durable » (DNUEDD). La Décennie vise à promouvoir l’éducation comme fondement d’une société durable, intégrer le développement durable à tous les systèmes d’éducation et favoriser la collaboration internationale dans la recherche d’approches novatrices pour cette entreprise.[1]

 

En 2008, le Conseil des ministres de l’Éducation (Canada), ou CMEC, a inclus l’éducation au développement durable (EDD) dans les secteurs d’activité clés pour L’Éducation au Canada – Horizon 2020, qui constitue son cadre de travail pour améliorer les systèmes d’éducation du Canada, ses possibilités d’apprentissage et ses résultats généraux en matière d’éducation à tous les niveaux. Le CMEC a élaboré un cadre de travail pancanadien pour l’EDD afin de favoriser la collaboration et l’action pour faire progresser l’EDD dans tous les territoires de compétence.

 Au Canada, L’Éducation au service de la Terre est à l’avant-garde d’une série d’initiatives à l’’appui de l’EDD.

[1] Traduction libre d’un extrait de Education for Sustainable Development in Canada: The Work of the Federal Government. Direction de la politique stratégique, Ressources naturelles Canada. 2005.