Search for Resources

Births in Water, Births on Land

Late May 2017

Top R4R Picks

Resources for extending the learning

Featured Species: Spawn of Sunfish!

Members of the sunfish family such as Smallmouth Bass and Pumpkinseed begin to spawn in late May. In the sunfish family it is the male that does the work building the nest and raising the young.

Spawning Smallmouth Bass can be seen along rocky shorelines or lakes and rivers. Males build a nest by creating a depression (31-183cm in diameter) in sandy, gravel, or rock bottoms in shallow water about 1m deep. The nest is usually located near the protection of rocks or logs, or more rarely dense vegetation.

Pumpkinseeds also build a shallow saucer-like depression, but a bit smaller (13-38cm in diameter) in clay, sandy, gravel or rock bottoms. Their nests are often part of a colony that may number over 100 closely arranged nests. The pumpkinseed male vigorously defends his territory.

In both species the male courts a female, involving swimming in circles and nipping. The female lays her eggs, which attach to the bottom of the nest, and the male will fertilize them (5000-14000 eggs for Smallmouth Bass, and 600-5000 eggs for Pumpkinseed). After spawning the female swims away – her job is done. She may go spawn with another male.

It’s the diligent dad that stays at the nest to protect and aerate the eggs by fanning water over them. Still, many eggs fail due to predators, sudden shifts in water temperature, and fungal infections.

Hatching in Smallmouth Bass takes 4-10 days. It then takes an additional 12 days for the young to absorb the yolk sac. 5-7 days after hatching the young will begin to leave the nest. The male will continue to guard them (young are small black spots) until they eventually wander off too far for him to keep track of all them. Males often return to the same area to nest in subsequent years. 

Pumpkinseed eggs hatch within a few days. Dad will also guard the young for up to 11 days, returning them to the nest in his mouth if the fry stray too far. After this time, the young leave and the male may clean his nest in preparation for a second spawning.

It might be tempting to catch and release nesting bass since they are both hungry and aggressive.  However, smaller fish will come in and eat both eggs and young, even if the male is gone for only a short time.  Always avoid fishing over spawning beds.  

Other Happenings:

  • Nature is getting it on - it’s a bit of a wild rumpus out there!

  • Curious and rambunctious Red Fox kits can be watched playing at their den – so cute!  Foxes den in abandoned groundhog holes or in holes dug by adults on sandy slopes. Dens may be used and discretely observed for many years. Kits emerge from dens when they are about a month old. The female stays with the kits, putting up with kit antics, for about a month while the male does the hunting.

  • Reptiles do it too - and Northern Water Snakes are mating. They may be seen entwined on low branches and in other vegetation near the water’s edge.

  • Blackpoll Warblers are passing through, and deserve accolades. This tiny, 12 g bird undertakes a very long journey from South America to more northern regions. That takes a lot of energy. Before undertaking the trip, the Blackpoll Warbler packs it on - the fat is needed to fuel the flight.

  • Non-breeding Giant Canada Geese start to migrate to James Bay to moult and compete with nesting Northern Canada Geese (see Late April). While moulting their feathers they are unable to fly.

  • Frothy white masses of spittle become a common sight on the stems of plants. These are created by Spittlebug nymphs that suck juices out of the stem and excrete the excess, which envelops them and likely helps protects them from predators.

  • Watch out for Poison Ivy.  Leaf size, colour, and shininess vary, but here are three distinguishing characteristics: 1) the middle leaflet has a much longer stem than the other two, (2) the leaflets droop downward, and (3) at least one of the leaflets is almost always asymmetrical. Poison ivy is thriving in the elevated atmospheric carbon dioxide levels.  Studies show that plants are getting bigger and producing more urushiol, the oil that causes the itchy rash. Everything is connected!

 INVASIVE ALERT!

 

  • The familiar phrase of “leaves of three let it be” reminds Canadians to avoid the stinging rash of poison ivy, but recently a much more fearsome plant is threatening both the environment and us!  It is hard to miss Giant Hogweed with its huge white flowers on massive stems which explains why it may have been brought from Asia to North America as a perennial garden plant.  Unfortunately, like many other invasive species Giant Hogweed soon escaped into native habitats where it thrived.  Until it reaches its full height the plant is also a master of disguise since it closely resembles other species such as Cow Parsnip   or Queen Ann’s Lace.  Uncontrolled growth of Giant Hogweed in areas like damp woodlands and stream banks can suppress the development of native plants which leads to loss of biodiversity.  However, the real danger from this nasty species lies in the human health hazard.  The watery sap contains toxins that burn skin when exposed to sun and can even cause temporary blindness.  It is important that we all learn to identify this invasive species and if you think you have found Giant Hogweed report the plant to one of the hotlines listed at the bottom of this factsheet.  The more we know about where this dangerous weed is located the more we can do to protect ourselves while exploring and enjoying our natural world.
  • Something invisible and remarkable is happening in our lakes again, something that hasn’t happened since October. When ice and snow leave the lakes they are allowed to “breathe” oxygen again. Photosynthesizing aquatic plants begin producing some oxygen, but the bulk comes from the air above. A lake that is uniformly cold allows the water to be mixed. On windy days, wave action extends all the way to the bottom of the lake, distributing dissolved oxygen throughout. This is called spring turnover. As summer approaches, surface water will heat up while the deeper water remains cold. Because warmer water is less dense the water doesn’t mix and only the top layer gets oxygenated. Virtually no mixing will occur again until the fall (see Mid-October), when colder temperatures will cool down that top layer.

  • The Monarch migration has ‘stalled’ as new caterpillars grow and change into butterflies which will soon come north.  Keep your eyes peeled and report that first butterfly!  On the positive side, the U.S. government brought together stakeholders to address the decline in pollinators, including the Monarch, and prioritize their recovery across the continent.  As a result, we now know how many new milkweed stems are required in just the north-central U.S.:  1.8 billion!  The hummers, of course, are here.

  • The moon appears to pass by Venus on its way towards Mercury, on the mornings of May 21-23.  A sliver is visible close to Mars the evening of the 26th.  Good viewing of Saturn begins in late May.

Premières étapes

La vie naît dans l’eau et sur terre ferme

la fin mai 2017

En vedette dans R4R

Ressources pour approfondir l'apprentissage

Pleins feux sur l’étoile de mer en fraie

Des membres de la famille des centrarchidés, comme l’achigan à petite bouche et le crapet-soleil, commencent à frayer à la fin mai. Chez les étoiles de mer, c’est le mâle qui construit le nid et qui s’occupe des petits.

En période de fraie, l’achigan à petite bouche se trouve le long des rivages rocheux et dans les lacs et les rivières rocheux. Dans des eaux d’une profondeur d’environ 1 mètre, le mâle construit un nid en creusant une dépression (d’un diamètre de 31 à 183 centimètres) dans le sable, le gravier ou le fond rocailleux. Normalement, le nid est situé de façon à être protégé par des roches, des billots de bois ou, plus rarement, une végétation dense.

Le crapet-soleil construit lui aussi une dépression en soucoupe qui est peu profonde et plus petite (de 13 à 38 centimètres) dans l’argile, le gravier ou le fond rocailleux. Souvent, son nid fait partie d’une colonie pouvant dénombrer plus d’une centaine de nids placés à proximité les uns aux autres. Le crapet-soleil mâle défend vigoureusement son territoire.

L’achigan à petite bouche et le crapet-soleil de sexe masculin fait la cour à la femelle en nageant en cercles autour d’elle et en la mordillant. Quand la femelle pond ses œufs, ceux-ci s’attachent au fond du nid, suite à quoi le mâle pourra les fertiliser (entre 5000 et 14000 œufs pour l’achigan à petite bouche, et de 600 à 5000 œufs pour le crapet-soleil). Une fois les œufs pondus, la femelle s’éloigne à la nage – elle a terminé son travail. Elle peut maintenant frayer avec un autre mâle.

C’est le papa diligent qui reste près du nid pour protéger et aérer les œufs en soufflant de l’eau dessus. Quand même, beaucoup d’œufs deviennent la proie de prédateurs, sont détruites par des changements soudains dans la température de l’eau et sont la proie d’infections fongiques.

Les œufs de l’achigan à petite bouche mettent de 4 à 10 jours pour éclore. Les jeunes mettent ensuite 12 jours pour consommer la membrane vitelline. 5 à 7 jours après l’éclosion, ils commenceront à quitter le nid. Le mâle continuera de monter la garde (les petits points noirs correspondent aux jeunes) jusqu’à ce que les petits s’aventurent si loin qu’il ne peut plus les suivre tous. Souvent, les mâles construisent leur nid au même endroit d’année en année.

Les œufs du crapet-soleil ne mettent que quelques jours pour éclore. Le papa montera la garde pendant 11 jours environ, attrapant les jeunes dans sa bouche pour les retourner au nid s’ils s’aventurent trop loin. Par la suite, les jeunes quittent le nid et le mâle se prépare à une seconde fraie en nettoyant le nid.

Il pourrait être tentant d'attraper et de relâcher les basses de nidification, puisqu’ils sont affamés et agressifs. Cependant, de plus petits poissons viendront manger les deux oeufs et les jeunes, même si le mâle est parti peu de temps. Évitez toujours de pêcher sur les lits de frai.

D’autres événements à ne pas manquer

  ALERTE À L’ENVAHISSEUR!

  • Au Canada anglais, un dicton populaire rappelle aux gens d’éviter les feuilles à trois folioles, sous peine de se retrouver avec des irritations cutanées causées par l’herbe à puce (« Leaves of three let it be »). Or, ces dernières années, une plante beaucoup plus redoutable pose une menace à l’environnement et aux êtres humains. Avec ses énormes fleurs blanches et ses tiges massives, la berce de Caucase ne passe pas inaperçue; c’est d’ailleurs pour cette raison que cette plante vivace aurait été emmenée en Amérique du Nord depuis l’Asie. Hélas, comme bien d’autres plantes envahissantes, la berce de Caucase a vite fait de s’échapper de ses plate-bandes pour s’installer dans des habitats naturels où elle s’épanouit. Avant d’atteindre sa pleine hauteur, cette plante est une championne du déguisement puisqu’elle ressemble beaucoup à d’autres espèces comme la berce laineuse et la carotte sauvage. Sa croissance désordonnée dans des régions boisées humides et sur les rives des cours d’eau peut étouffer les plantes indigènes et mener à une réduction de la biodiversité. Mais son véritable danger est celui qu'il pose à la santé des humains. Sa sève aqueuse contient des toxines qui brûlent la peau lorsque celle-ci est exposée au soleil et peut même nous aveugler temporairement. Pour toutes ces raisons, il est essentiel que nous apprenions tous à identifier cette espèce envahissante. Si vous pensez avoir repéré un plant de berce de Caucase, vous pouvez le signaler en communiquant avec l’une des lignes téléphoniques répertoriées au bas de cette fiche d'information. Plus nous en saurons sur l’emplacement de cette mauvaise herbe dangereuse, mieux nous pourrons nous protéger quand il s’agira de sortir explorer en nature.
  • Il se produit encore dans nos lacs quelque chose d’invisible mais remarquable, un phénomène qui n’a pas eu lieu depuis octobre dernier. Quand la glace et la neige disparaissent, les lacs peuvent de nouveau « respirer » de l’oxygène. Les plantes aquatiques photosynthétiques commencent à produire de l’oxygène, mais la vaste majorité d’oxygène provient de l’air à la surface. Les eaux du lac, uniformément froides, pourront se mélanger. Par les journées plus venteuses, l’action des vagues se prolonge jusqu’au fond du lac, ce qui permet la distribution de l’oxygène dissoute. Ce phénomène, on l’appelle le brassage de printemps. À mesure qu’approche l’été, l’eau de surface se réchauffera alors que celle des profondeurs restera froide. Comme l’eau plus chaude est moins dense, les deux niveaux d’eau restent séparés et seule l’eau à la surface reçoit de l’oxygène. Peu de mélange aura lieu avant le retour de l’automne (voir le bulletin de la mi-octobre), quand les températures plus froides refroidiront l’eau de surface.
  • Les monarques ont été retardées par les temps froid. Gardez l’œil ouvert et signalez le premier que vous verrez! Du côté positif, le gouvernement américain a réuni des intervenants afin de remédier la baisse des pollinisateurs, y compris le monarque et donner la priorité à leur rétablissement. Ainsi, nous savons maintenant combien de nouvelles tiges d’asclépiade sont tenues juste aux États-Unis : 1,8 milliard! Les colibris, eux, sont arrivés.
  • Le lundi 22 et le mardi 23 mai à l’aube, une heure avant le lever du Soleil, on prend les mêmes que le mois dernier et on recommence ! Vénus et le croissant de la vieille lune ont rendez-vous au ras de l’horizon.