Search for Resources

National Indigenous Peoples Day:
June 21, 2021

National Indigenous Peoples Day was first proclaimed in 1996 by then Governor General Romeo LeBlanc to honour the unique heritage, culture and outstanding contributions of Canada’s Indigenous peoples. In consultation with First Nations, Inuit and Metis organizations, June 21 was selected because of the significance of the summer solstice in Indigenous culture and tradition.

National Indigenous Day provides all Canadians with an excellent opportunity to celebrate Indigenous culture and to learn more about the many achievements of First Nations, Métis and Inuit in fields as diverse as agriculture, the environment, business and the arts.

Resources 4 Rethinking encourages students and teachers to participate in NIDP. Top R4R Picks will connect you to some excellent resources for exploring Indigenous perspectives on a number of themes and issues related to sustainable development.

Featured Resource:

LSF is pleased to recommend one of its own resources, "Protecting Our Sacred Water". Produced in partnership with the Jane Goodall Institute, this guide helps teachers bring FNMI knowledge and culture into their classrooms and provides ways to incorporate traditional FNMI knowledge into the implementation of a water action project

For more information & ideas, go to NIPD Canada

Premières étapes

Journée nationale des peuples autochtones:
21 juin 2021

En vedette dans R4R

Ressources pour approfondir l'apprentissage

En 1996, le gouverneur général du Canada proclamait la première Journée nationale des peuples autochtones. Elle vise à célébrer le patrimoine des populations autochtones et souligner l’importance de leur contribution au Canada. La date exacte, le 21 juin, a été choisie en raison de l’importance du solstice d’été dans la culture des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis.

La Journée nationale des peuples autochtones est l’occasion pour les Canadiens d’honorer les cultures autochtones du pays et d’en apprendre davantage sur les réalisations – dans des domaines aussi divers que l’agriculture, l’environnement, les affaires et les arts – des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis.

L’équipe de Ressources pour repenser encourage les élèves et les enseignants à participer à la Journée nationale des peuples autochtones. Les ressources En vedette ont été choisies en fonction de leur perspective autochtone sur des enjeux entourant le développement durable.

La ressource en vedette:

L’éducation au service de la terre (LST) est fière de vous présenter une des ses ressources plus récentes, Protection de notre eau sacrée.  Ce guide, produit en collaboration avec l’Institut Jane Goodall, s’appuie sur la tradition et la culture des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis et permet aux enseignant(e)s d’intégrer le savoir traditionnel autochtone dans la mise en œuvre d’un projet de protection de l’eau.

Pour en savoir plus visitez le site Journée nationale des peuples autochtones