Search for Resources
Learning for a Sustainable Future accepts the consensus of the scientific community that human-induced climate change is underway and that impact at some level cannot be avoided. LSF also supports the view that the degree of harm resulting from human-induced climate change can be greatly decreased by taking action now and that action will be required for the foreseeable future.
Climate change is the most complex and wide-reaching challenge facing humankind today; it is essential that we help younger generations to be better equipped to take on this challenge and that we call on their energy, creativity and need to contribute to help us all take up the task.
While climate change presents educators with daunting challenges, these challenges also present valuable opportunities to evolve practice so that students have a sound understanding of climate change and get involved in contributing to solutions in their schools and communities.

Learning for a Sustainable Future accepts the consensus of the scientific community that human-induced climate change is underway and that impact at some level cannot be avoided. LSF also supports the view that the degree of harm resulting from human-induced climate change can be greatly decreased by taking action now and that action will be required for the foreseeable future.

Climate change is the most complex and wide-reaching challenge facing humankind today; it is essential that we help younger generations to be better equipped to take on this challenge and that we call on their energy, creativity and need to contribute to help us all take up the task.

While climate change presents educators with daunting challenges, these challenges also present valuable opportunities to evolve practice so that students have a sound understanding of climate change and get involved in contributing to solutions in their schools and communities.

Climate Change Presents Educators With Challenges & Opportunities

Complexity

The scope of climate change and its impacts is immense. Everything we do depends on a stable climate. Our understanding of climate change and its impacts requires an understanding of multiple related systems including physical (glaciers, rivers, sea levels), biological (terrestrial, marine) and human (agriculture, energy, health, economy). 

A challenge of this complexity provides endless opportunities for learning, from dissecting the individual systems above, to developing critical thinking and media literacy skills, to exploring multiple sources of information to really comprehend the full scope of the issue

Emotions

Discussion of climate change can lead to feelings of fear and anxiety and cause people to distance themselves from the problem, leading them to disengage, doubt and even dismiss it. So how do we address emotions in the teaching of climate change? 

Every individual is different, and emotional responses are influenced by the beliefs, worldviews, and existing emotions each individual brings to the table. Classroom cultures of trust must be created where the range of students’ perspectives and questions students have on climate change can be expressed and explored through group knowledge building and critical reflection. There are many ways to approach climate change; there is room for fear and hope, wonder and suspense, sadness and curiosity, and all the rest of human emotion.  

Changing Worldviews

Addressing climate change requires us to question many of society’s norms. This includes: how we define progress and the role of science and technology; capitalism, material growth and consumerism; exploitation of nature; and the dominance of individualistic values, such as freedom, independence, success, performance, social recognition, and comfort. An effective understanding of climate change will be transdisciplinary, apply systems perspectives, span from local to global considerations, and cultivate respectful ways of approaching contested positions—all approaches that are transferable to supporting students’ development in other areas! 

Conventional Schoolings vs Transformative Learning

Conventional teaching, based on information transfer and finding the “right” answers, does not align well with the complexity of climate change education. With the internet at their fingertips, students have access to more information than they could ever process. And society has not yet found the right answers when it comes to climate change. Our students need more. 

Education reforms now promote strategies such as Transformative Learning, Education for Sustainable Development, 21st Century Learning, and others that are better suited to tackling complex problems like climate change. These strategies often begin with the understanding and experiences that students bring with them. Educators, who themselves are grappling with climate change issues, take the role of facilitator and guide learners with their questions. School learning is brought into contact with the real world, allowing learners to cultivate creativity and innovation as they bump into real-life complexities. Students develop the attitudes and skill sets necessary to address challenges to which we don’t yet have the right answers, the same skills they need to be successful individuals, citizens and entrepreneurs. 

Check out our  “Learning Resources & Programs” tabs to get started!

Premières étapes

Changement climatique

Leçons sur le changement climatique

Learning for a Sustainable Future accepts the consensus of the scientific community that human-induced climate change is underway and that impact at some level cannot be avoided. LSF also supports the view that the degree of harm resulting from human-induced climate change can be greatly decreased by taking action now and that action will be required for the foreseeable future.
Climate change is the most complex and wide-reaching challenge facing humankind today; it is essential that we help younger generations to be better equipped to take on this challenge and that we call on their energy, creativity and need to contribute to help us all take up the task.
While climate change presents educators with daunting challenges, these challenges also present valuable opportunities to evolve practice so that students have a sound understanding of climate change and get involved in contributing to solutions in their schools and communities.

L’éducation au service de la Terre (LST) accepte le consensus de la communauté scientifique affirmant que des changements climatiques d’origine humaine sont en cours et que certaines de leurs retombées sont inévitables. LST est d’accord avec l’opinion selon laquelle les dangers découlant des changements climatiques d’origine humaine peuvent être grandement réduits en passant à l’action dès maintenant et que ces gestes seront requis pendant un avenir prévisible. 

Le changement climatique est l’enjeu le plus complexe et aux portées les plus vastes qui confronte actuellement l’humanité. Il est essentiel que nous aidions les jeunes à mieux se prémunir contre ce défi et que nous tirions parti de leur énergie, de leur créativité et de leur besoin pour nous aider à le relever.  

Bien que le changement climatique présente aux éducateurs des difficultés de taille, celles-ci constituent également de précieuses occasions de favoriser l’évolution de la profession pour aider les élèves à le comprendre et les inciter à y trouver des solutions dans leur école et leur communauté. 

Le changement climatique présent aux éducateurs des défis et des occasions

Complexité

La portée du changement climatique et de ses retombées est immense. Tout ce que nous faisons dépend d’un climat stable. Pour comprendre le changement climatique et ses retombées, nous devrons comprendre les nombreux systèmes connexes, y compris les systèmes physiques (glaciers, rivières, niveau de la mer), les systèmes biologiques (terrestres, marins) et les systèmes humains (agriculture, énergie, santé, économie). 

Cette complexité donne naissance à d’innombrables occasions d’apprentissage, que ce soit disséquer les systèmes individuels susmentionnés, développer des aptitudes de pensée critique et d’initiation aux médias ou d’explorer les multiples sources d’information pour réellement comprendre la portée entière du défi.

Émotions

Les discussions entourant le changement climatique peuvent donner naissance à des sentiments de peur et d’anxiété et inciter les gens à se distancer du problème, à s’en dissocier, à le mettre en doute, voire à le rejeter entièrement. Ainsi, comment devrions-nous aborder les émotions au moment d’enseigner le changement climatique? 

Chaque personne est différente, et les réactions émotionnelles sont influencées par les croyances, la conception du monde et les sentiments de tout un chacun. Il faut créer une culture de confiance dans les salles de classe pour permettre aux élèves d’exprimer leurs diverses perspectives et questions au sujet du changement climatique et les explorer à l’aide d’activités d’acquisition de connaissances et de réflexion critique. Il y a de nombreuses façons d’aborder le changement climatique; toutes les émotions sont permises, que ce soit la peur, l’espoir, l’émerveillement, le suspense, la tristesse, la curiosité ou autres.   

Changement de la conception du monde

Pour aborder le changement climatique, il faut remettre en question bon nombre des normes de la société, y compris notre définition du progrès et le rôle de la science et de la technologie;  le capitalisme, la croissance matérielle et le consumérisme; l’exploitation de la nature; et la dominance des valeurs individualistes, comme la liberté, l’indépendance, la reconnaissance sociale et le confort. La compréhension efficace du changement climatique est transdisciplinaire, se fonde sur des perspectives systématiques, tient compte de facteurs locaux et mondiaux et cultive des façons respectueuses d’aborder des opinions controversées —approches qui sont toutes transférables à l’appui du développement des élèves dans d’autres domaines! 

Comparaison entre l’enseignement conventionnel et l’apprentissage transformateur

L’enseignement conventionnel, qui repose sur le transfert d’information et la découverte des « bonnes » réponses », ne convient pas bien à la complexité de l’enseignement du changement climatique.  Vu qu’ils ont Internet à portée de la main, les élèves ont accès à plus de renseignements qu’ils seront jamais en mesure de traiter. De plus, la société n’a pas encore trouvé les bonnes réponses en ce qui a trait au changement climatique. Nos élèves ont besoin d’un enseignement plus poussé. 

Les réformes de l’éducation prônent maintenant l’adoption de stratégies, telles que l’apprentissage transformateur, l’éducation au développement durable,  l’apprentissage pour le 21e siècle et autres, qui sont plus pertinentes pour aborder des problèmes complexes, comme le changement climatique. Ces stratégies consistent souvent à comprendre les expériences que les élèves ont vécues. Les éducateurs, qui sont eux-mêmes aux prises avec l’enjeu du changement climatique, jouent le rôle de facilitateur et de guide pour les élèves. L’apprentissage scolaire est relié au vrai monde, ce qui permet aux apprenants de cultiver leur créativité et leur innovation lorsqu’ils sont confrontés aux complexités de la vie.  Les élèves développent les attitudes et les aptitudes nécessaires pour aborder des problèmes pour lesquels il n’existe encore aucune solution, soit les mêmes aptitudes dont ils auront besoin pour connaître la réussite en tant que personnes, citoyens et entrepreneurs.  

Consultez les onglets   « Ressources et programmes d’apprentissage » pour démarrer !