Aboriginal Literature in Canada

Secondary, Elementary, Middle


Aboriginal Literature in Canada: A Teacher's Resource Guide consists of narrative comments along with the annotated bibliographies and related readings, explanations, interpretations and suggestions for six different Aboriginal cultures. The six cultures are Mi'Kmaq, Mohawk (Six Nations), Anishnabe (Ojibway), Cree, Metis and Okanagan. The Inuit culture has a few anthologies listed.

Very few student activities are listed, which is meant to encourage teachers to find their own voice in teaching Aboriginal literatures, engage in a dialogue with these texts, and bring in their own background. The few student activities that are listed have students compare several versions of legends, investigate the role of animals in stories and translate Cree poetry.

Aboriginal Literatures in Canada contains a wealth of selected literature by Aboriginal authors, native anthologies, texts, related readings, and suggested websites. It is a well-researched and insightful resource.

General Assessment

Themes Addressed

Relevant Curriculum Units